One Good Movie - World on Fire

A newsletter for movie lovers with taste but not much time.

Hi friend,

Back from the holidays and a few bouts of sickness.

I’ll be shifting to one movie a month in the interest of other writing projects. I promise nothing but cinematic excellence.

I saw many 2023 movies in December (Ferrari, finally), but today we’re going back to the historic year 2022.

What’s atypical is the film is an adaptation of a non-fiction political work transformed into a fiction plot.

Director Daniel Goldhaber weaves the film between the task of the title and flashbacks sketching how the young characters choose violent activism.

You’re never asked to judge or root for the characters, but you can’t help but get caught up in the procedure.

A propulsive modern thriller.

-Guy

Epilogue

I don’t have much to add to the discourse regarding Killers of the Flower Moon. I viewed it in the theater in October, but now it’s available on streaming. Set aside some time and watch it.

The best American film of the year.

It’s not homework. It’s captivating throughout. But unlike Goodfellas or The Wolf of Wall Street, we can’t just laugh off the idiotic characters and their horrible misdeeds. There’s an unease and callousness to the violence and the dehumanization of native people.

Martin Scorcese takes you on a journey into hell, and we’re all complicit.

Plus, Robert De Niro reveals he still has his fastball.

I went to an early show and figured I would need a bathroom break, but I never left my seat.

Entertaining. Sickening. Gripping.

Highly recommended.

Burgers

Since I’m back in the land of mediocre burgers, I want to sing the praises of a surprising find in Woodstock, IL.

The Double Yolk (aka Angelo’s) makes a tasty burger.

Look how happy that guy is.