One Good Movie - Blank Face

A weekly newsletter for movie lovers with taste but not much time.

Hi friend,

Many of you were unable to watch last week's movie. #notblessed

I attribute this to your lack of cinematic will and ambition, but it could have something to do with the complicated nature of streaming rights. 🤷‍♀️

This week's movie is widely available. I'll even give you a direct link to a version available on YouTube.

I was inspired by the podcast Blank Check. They're doing a retrospective of Buster Keaton. 

Blank Check is an acquired taste. Buster Keaton is not. 

John Wick is a direct descendant. If you like Jackie Chan or Molly Shannon, you'll enjoy the comedy of Keaton. 

His masterpiece The General famously influenced the Mad Max franchise. 

For those hesitant to watch a silent film, this is a wonderful entry point. It's a mere five reels (45 minutes). 

Often the best cinematic sequences, modern or old, are free of talk.

I forget that not everyone spent their teenage years devouring silent comedies on Betamax! 

Watch the film here

-Guy

Epilogue

It's my friend Xavi's birthday. He has a cinema screen in his home. It is massive and magnificent. And I am jealous.

I have a hand-me-down TV with broken pixels and horrible dynamic range. But I used to watch movies on a 5-inch Zenith black and white TV.

So things are looking up. 😅#blessed #grateful