One Good Movie Strikes Back

A weekly newsletter for movie lovers with taste but not much time.

Hi,

I watched White Noise last weekend. It didn't work for me. I enjoyed the first two parts, but the last hour bored me. Perhaps the book wasn't meant for adaptation. I also thought Greta Gerwig was miscast.

Tone is tricky. The Coen Brothers, the greatest and most consistent American filmmakers of the last fifty years, are surgeons of tone. White Noise's tone never quite landed. Still, much to admire, and terrific to see a $100 million gamble on a non-Marvel property.

A film from the same creatives as White Noise is Frances Ha.

You should watch it.

Made for $3 million. 86 minutes. Beautiful black and white photography.

It's about being in your late twenties, friendship, and figuring the world out.

And it's funny.

-Guy

Epilogue

I love A-frame homes. At least the idea of A-frames. During the pandemic, I would look at Wisconsin and Michigan properties. There were many A-frames that hadn't seen a fresh coat of paint since the Washington Bullets won the championship.

I didn't buy one, but now you can buy your own A-frame for under $200.

James Bond 12 (redux)

Did you see those Tron images from Alejandro Jodorowsky's 1976 Verison of Tron that John Gruber linked to on Daringfireball.net?

It got me thinking about the James Bond film Steven Spielberg wanted to make in the late-seventies. Spielberg was turned down by the producers. His friend George Lucas offered him an alternative Bond character, and we were gifted a new movie hero.

I used Midjourney to create some images of a 1980 Spielberg Bond film.