One Good Movie - Sports

A newsletter for movie lovers with taste but not much time.

Hi friend,

My Spanish grandmother (abuela política) described me as “very sporty” this week.

If we’re acquainted, you know “natural athlete” is the first phrase most people use to describe me.

Therefore I have two sports movies for you.

A sportsman like me can’t be contained.

Richard Linklater’s underseen story of college baseball players in 1980s Texas.

There’s no big game. But there are practices, parties, and girls.

Even if you never donned cleats, the film effortlessly captures the feeling of navigating college and the delight the freedom provides.

For a more formulaic sporting event, I recommend watching or rewatching:

Linklater did the 2005 remake, but there’s no matching the 1976 original directed by Michael Ritchie.

Walter Matthau brings the heat playing Morris Buttermaker, a washed-up former minor league baseball player tasked with coaching a youth team of rejects.

Jackie Earle Haley and Tatum O’Neal lead the cast of misfit players.

Hilarious and profane.

-Guy

Epilogue

Last Friday, I had a good burger.

In Spain.

Their “Bacon Me Crazywon the best burger in Catalonia last year. It’s a double smash patty with cheddar cheese, crispy smoked bacon, caramelized onion, and candy bacon mayonnaise.

I had their titular burger, which includes bacon and a standard burger sauce.

Is it “buy a ticket to Spain” good? No, but I’ve filled my need for ground beef and cheese, and it’s a short walk from my house.

The owners and chef are from New Zealand, which may account for the superior patties and buns.

I LOVE the food and variety of cuisine available in Barcelona; now my culinary quest turns to finding decent delivery.

Vision Pro Movies

For all my readers donning their new Apple Vision Pros on airplanes and in grocery stores, here’s a list of films to experience on the “big” screen.

  • Once Upon a Time in the West

  • Predator

  • Playtime 

  • Apocalypse Now

  • The Northman

  • Sunrise (1927)

  • Pirahna 3D

  • Rear Window

  • Modern Times

Letterboxd

Are you on Letterboxd? I’m on Letterboxd.

It’s the premier social app for film nerds cinephiles.

You can find me at midwestguy.