One Good Movie - Episode IV

A weekly newsletter for movie lovers with taste but not much time.

Happy Friday,

First off, reply guy, Bill Hader is not a movie star.

Yes, we all love Bill Hader. Barry collides the best of film into television. But Hader doesn't get movies funded. He doesn't open movies on 3000+ screens. He doesn't do his own stunts.

As I said, there aren't many movie stars left.

Who gets you off your couch into the theater? That's a movie star. Might only be Tom Cruise and Leonardo DiCaprio. I sadly can't say that for any woman.

#hollywoodneverchanges

There are a few star directors. I'll go to the theater to see anything Jordan Peele makes. I'm absolutely intrigued by Greta Gerwig's take on Barbie.

One of the classic star directors is Ernst Lubitsch.

This week's movie is Trouble in Paradise, directed by Lubitsch.

It's 90+ years old and continues to be invited up for a nightcap.

I watched a bad copy on FilmIn recently. View the restored Criterion version. It's worth it.

83 minutes. Funny and glamorous. Urbane. Art Deco to the hilt.

Don’t let the black-and-white photography and mono soundtrack fool you, every scene drips with sex.

This film is a Pre-Code production. That means braless ladies. Thick, deep, and hard innuendo.

I love how economical Lubitsch is with his shots and staging. Check out how he elegantly moves the camera and covers scenes in single takes. He plays one sequence entirely on a clock.

If you're a fan of the Coen Brothers, you’ll see Lubitsch's influence all over their canon.

Not sold? It's about con artists.

Everybody loves a thief.

-Guy

Epilogue

I watched Everything Everywhere All at Once last weekend. I started to like it. Then I didn't like it. Then its relentless won me over. But I'm not sure it's a good movie or if I would even recommend it.

It's not my jam. Or is it?

The directors have incredible wit and energy, but it tries too hard, and so many parts feel derivative.

I'm no hater of pastiche, but sometimes the whole does not transcend the parts.

The cast is solid. James Hong, from Big Trouble in Little China and 100 other movies is in it! Ke Huy Quan returns to acting.

And who doesn't love Michelle Yeoh? Remember watching Tomorrow Never Dies in 1999 the same day Titanic was released?

Michelle Yeoh wrapped her legs around our hearts and never let go.

Watching Everything I found myself laughing, engaged, even moved, and then many times bored by the picture. It really is EVERYTHING. Sometimes that's not a good thing when it comes to story.

I admire the filmmakers, but I can't imagine ever seeing the movie again.

Number Nine

On the other hand, I rewatched Once Upon a Time in Hollywood. It's my least favorite Tarantino, but it's growing on me.

Lesser Tarantino is better than 99.9% of the movies released this year.

Tuning Out

Airpods Pro 2: The Quickening is outstanding.

I'm excited to watch a film properly tuned for spatial audio. The noise canceling is good, but for version three, Apple needs to test it against my Spanish neighbors.

In Spain, you don't like someone unless you are yelling at them.

THANK YOU FOR SUBSCRIBING.

IF YOU KNOW SOMEONE THAT MIGHT ENJOY THIS EMAIL, FORWARD IT TO THEM. OR ENCOURAGE THEM TO SUBSCRIBE.

OKAY, I'M GOING NOW.

HAVE A GOOD DAY.

SERIOUSLY, IT IS TIME FOR ME TO END THIS EMAIL.

BUT IN SPAIN IT TAKES THREE HOURS TO SAY GOODBYE, SO I'M STILL HERE.

I REALLY NEED TO GO NOW.

TALK SOON.

I'M STILL HERE.

WHY ARE YOU STILL HERE?

SHOULD WE ORDER PIZZA?

MAYBE JUST SOME BRAVAS.

OH, IT'S VERMUT TIME.

/